We use cookies to help us give you the best experience when using our website. Unless you change your settings, we'll assume that you are happy for us to do this. You can view our cookie policy by clicking here.

ISDS Presidents & ISDS Chairmen

ISDS Presidents

From 1922 to 1963, Lord Mostyn was the President of the ISDS. When Lord Mostyn resigned, the position of President became an annual honary award made to someone from the country holding the International.

ISDS Chairmen

In 1960, there was a newly published ISDS Constitution, where the Directors voted for the appointment of a Chairman who now chaired the annual meetings. The first ISDS Chairman was Captain T. M. Whittaker who had accompanied Lord Mostyn to the 1921 Ayr International to prepare for the following year’s first Welsh International at Criccieth. Captain Whittaker died in 1962, and the Society began the election of ruling Chairmen for three year periods.

In 1962 Willie Bagshaw of Blyth near Worksop was elected.

In 1968, it was Archie McDiarmid of Gourock in Renfrewshire.

In 1974, it was Frank Tarn of Brancepeth, County Durham.

In 1976, it was Ray Ollerenshaw of Derwent.

In 1988, it was Norman Seamark of Bedford.

In 1998, it was Jim Easton of Alnwick, Northumberland.

The 8th ISDS Chairman to be elected was Tom Huddleston in 2017.


funded by the national lottery

© 2017- ISDS Sheepdog Archive